Dr.J. on Running


State Indoors


Published March 10, 2002 in The Syracuse Post-Standard.

By Dr Kamal Jabbour, Contributing Writer

With temperatures in the upper sixties, the State high school indoor track and field championships could well have been held outside the Carrier Dome. The unseasonable weather may have encouraged many families to travel to Syracuse to watch the 1,300 athletes compete for Association and Federation titles.

Tracey Brauksieck's attempt to double up in the 1,000- and 1,500-meter runs fell short by two-tenths of a second. Brauksieck, a senior from Homer, won the 1,000 in 2:55.13, and finished second to Elizabeth Maloy of Holy Names in the 1,500. Maloy ran 4:40.04 to Brauksieck's 4:40.25. Diane Heiser of Bayport and Van Love-McCarthy of Penfield rounded the top three in the 1,000 with times of 2:55.63 and 2:57.70. FM's Lauren Heron finished sixth. Eryka Perrealt of Colonie finished third in the 1,500 in 4:41.72, and FM's Laurel Burdick fourth in 4:44.88.

Eighth-grader Nicole Blood of Saratoga won the 3,000-meter run in 10:05.66, followed by ninth-grader Laura Cummings of Bay Shore in 10:13.10 and ninth-grader Melissa Trauscht of Saratoga in 10.19.96. Ashley Hughes of Phoenix finished fourth.

Shayna Staton of Bay Shore won the 600-meter run in 1 minute 34.52 seconds, followed by Nana Hanson-Hall of New Rochelle in 1:35.05 and Tanya Osborne of Loughlin in 1:35.69. Jennifer Taormina of Liverpool finished seventh.

Tiera Fletcher of Cardinal Spellman won the 300-meters in 40.23, followed by Chinny Offor of Half Hollow Hills in 40.27 and Megan Farmer of Longwood in 40.60.

Virgil Hodge of West Irving won the girls' 55-meter dash in 7.08 seconds, followed by Shanae Henry of Kellenberg in 7.16 and LaDrea Dortch of Lockport in 7.18. Melissa Brown of Proctor and Jamila Johnson of Nottingham finished sixth and eighth.

Maria Michta of Sachem won the 1500-meter racewalk in 7:09.63, followed by Lauren Olivieri of Hauppauge in 7:10.38 and Christy Finke of Fairport in 7:17.91.

In the field events, Shauna Williams of Mount Vernon won the long jump in 18 feet 4.5 inches, followed by Kela Jackson of Wilson in 17-04.75 and Mary Saxer of Lancaster in 17-04. Krista Kerr of Babylon won the long jump in 37-07.75, followed by Taneisha Canteve of Suffern in 36-11.75 and Celestine Coney of Lyons in 36-05.00. CNS's Fetima Fields was fourth. Zara Northover of Sewanhaka won the shot with a put of 43 feet 7.75 inches, followed by Marina Liander of Notre Dame in 41-08 and Toya Woods of New Rochelle in 41-00.75.

In the boys' races, Andy Wigton of Greece Athena won the 3,200-meters in 9:14.48, followed by Jon Pierce of Canton in 9:18.66 and Mark Alizzi of Syosset in 9:20.70. Dan McKenna of Liverpool finished eighth.

Tyler Raymond of Scotia won the 1,600 meter run in 4:17.92, followed by Justin Corelli of Shaker in 4:21.82 AND Adam vAn Nortwick of Saranac Lake in 4:22.38.

Tony Calabro of Cornwall won the boys' 1,000-meter run in 2:32.95, followed by Ryan Deluca of Ward Melville in 2:33.27 and Jessie Williamson of F.D. Roosevelt in 2:33.75.

Gered Burns of Guilderland won the boys' 600-meter run in 1:21.73, followed by Dominic Luka of Nottingham in 1:22.57 and Greg Simons of Bryam Hills in 1:22.69. CBA's Brian McNiff finished fifth.

Oliver Williams of Central Islip won the 300-meter dash in 35.10, followed by Rob Delaski of Byram Hills in 35.26 and Nelson English of Guilderland in 35.31.

Oliver Williams of Central Islip won the 55-meter dash in 6.37 seconds, followed by Damien Rhodes of Fayetteville-Manlius in 6.39 and Chris Henderson of Peru in 6.54.

In the boys' field events, both Andrew Park of Fairport and Dave Eckert cleared 14 feet 9 inches in the pole vault. Park won based on past misses, while Rory Qullier of O'Neill finished third clearing 14-06. Evan Lasher of Arlington won the shot with a put of 59 feet 2.5 inches, followed by Scott Anderson of Oneida in 58-01 and Josh Dupuis of Tupper Lake in 54-07.75. Jason Ramsey of Mount Vernon leaped 47 feet to win the triple jump, followed by Reggie Rucker and BuAhmed Wright, both of Edison.

This is the fourth year in a row that the Carrier Dome played host to the State championship, since it move from Cornell's Barton Hall. The indoor competition remains the only State championship in which athletes compete amongst each other and against gravity on equal footing, with fictitious divisions by class or school size.

© 2002 The Post-Standard.

Kamal Jabbour runs and writes on the hills of Pompey, New York. His RUNNING Column appears in The Syracuse Post-Standard on Mondays. Dr.J. created TrackMeets.com, webcasting live Every Lap of Every Race. He receives email at jabbour@i2sports.com.